How to Get an Ohio Real Estate License


The Ohio Division of Real Estate governs and grants all real estate licenses in Ohio. In order to obtain a salesperson license you must meet the criteria set forth by the Division.

General Requirements:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • Be sponsored by a licensed broker
  • Hold a high school diploma or equivalent (unless born before 1950)
  • Complete 120-hour pre-licensing education
  • Have a reputation and criminal record considered acceptable by the Ohio Division of Real Estate
  • Pass the State and National portions of the licensing examination

Educational Requirements for an Ohio Real Estate License

The 120-hour pre-licensing education must be completed with a pre-approved educational provider. The 120 hours will be broken down into four classes: Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours); Ohio Real Estate Law, including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination and desegregation problems (40 hours); Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours); and Real Estate Finance (20 hours).

Ohio Real Estate License Examination Application

After you have completed your 120-hour educational requirement, you can then apply to take the examination (http://www.com.ohio.gov/real/docs/real_COM3568SalespersonLicenseExaminationApplication.pdf). You will need your sponsoring broker’s information and signature along with a copy of your certification of completion from real estate school and the $60 application fee. Once the Commission approves your application, the testing company will notify you.

Registering and Scheduling for the Ohio Real Estate Examination

PSI is the company that handles all of the official real estate testing in Ohio. You must register for your exam and schedule it through PSI. The two fastest ways to do this are online and over the phone (800-733-9267). You will need a VISA or MasterCard to complete the registration and pay the $63 testing fee. If you would like to register by faxing the registration form, you can find the form at the end of the Candidate Information Bulletin. You will also need VISA or MasterCard to register this way. You will have to wait three business days before making your examination appointment. Mailing the registration form allows you to pay using money order or cashiers check. Again, you will have to wait three business days before scheduling your examination appointment.

You must pass both sections (National and State) of the examination within one year of receiving your eligibility notice. If you do not pass both sections within that amount of time, you will have to re-apply to the Commission.

Taking the Ohio Real Estate Examination

PSI recommends that you arrive to the testing center at least 30 minutes prior to your scheduled appointment. This allows for the check-in process and familiarizing you with testing procedures. In order to be admitted to the test you must bring two forms of valid identification. One ID should be government issued, bearing your signature and photo. The other ID needs your name preprinted and your signature.

Before the test begins you will be presented with a tutorial regarding the use of the testing computer. You will not need any typing or computer experience in order to properly use the technology. Once you understand how to use the computer you may choose to begin your test. The time you spend practicing with the tutorial will not affect your testing time.

The first time you take the examination you will be taking both the National and State portions at the same time. You may only take one section at a time if you fail a section on your first attempt. The National portion is 80 questions; you must answer 70% correctly (56 items) in order to pass. The State portion consists of 40 questions; you must answer 70% correctly (28 items) to achieve a passing score. You will have three hours to complete the entire exam.

At the conclusion of your exam your “pass” or “fail” status will appear on the computer screen. The testing center staff will provide you with a printed unofficial score report. If you fail one section you may retake that section alone at a later date for an additional $43.

Obtaining Your Ohio Real Estate License

Once you have successfully completed the examination, more information regarding the issuance of your license will accompany your score report.

Official Resources


4 Responses to “How to Get an Ohio Real Estate License”

  1. Columbus commented on December 31, 2013

    Besides my id what is an example of a second form of identification I can use if I don’t have my social or birth certificate?

    • Chris commented on December 31, 2013

      Hi, Columbus. PSI requires the two forms and they state their policy in the PDF. Give them a call at (800) 733-9267 to get an exact answer. I’d hate to see you miss your exam because of improper ID.

      “You must provide 2 forms of identification. One must be a
      VALID form of government issued identification (driver’s
      license, state ID, passport), which bears your signature and has
      your photograph. The second ID must have your signature and
      preprinted legal name. All identification provided must match
      the name on the Examination Registration Form and your
      Registration Confirmation Notice.

      If you cannot provide the required identification, you must call
      (800) 733-9267 at least 3 weeks prior to your scheduled
      appointment to arrange a way to meet this security
      requirement. Failure to provide all of the required
      identification at the time of the examination without
      notifying PSI is considered a missed appointment, and you will
      not be able to take the examination.”

  2. Brandi Sams commented on June 14, 2015

    Are there any online schools where the 120 hours of pre-licensing can be completed?

Have a Question?

We're here to help in any way that we can. If you have a question about the process of getting your real estate license, please leave us a note below.