The West Virginia Real Estate Commission sets forth requirements for all real estate licensing candidates. You must fulfill all of the requirements prior to being granted a license.
- 90 hours of real estate education
- Passing score on licensing examination
- Recommendations from two West Virginia real estate owners
- Obtain a sponsoring broker
West Virginia Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education
The West Virginia Real Estate Commission requires all licensing candidates to complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education. You must earn at least a grade of “C” in order to qualify for the licensing examination. The grading scale dictates that a “C” grade is 75% – 85%. The curriculum hours should be divided in the following way:
- 30 hours – Real Estate Principles and Practice
- 20 hours – Real Estate Law
- 20 hours – Real Estate Finance
- 20 hours – Real Estate Appraisal
The Commission will only accept courses that have been pre-approved.
Once you have completed the curriculum hours, the school will issue you a completion certificate. You will need to submit the original completion certificate with your license application.
Applying for a West Virginia Real Estate License
After completing the educational requirement, the next step is to submit an application to the West Virginia Real Estate Commission. Once your application has been approved, the Commission will send you notification of your examination date.
In order to submit a complete application you must have two West Virginia real estate owners complete the personal recommendation portion. They must own their property for more than a year and know you for more than two years. They may not be related to you or be associated through business.
You must also have your sponsoring broker complete a portion of the application testifying to your good character.
Taking the West Virginia Real Estate Examination
The Commission administers the licensing exam once a month at the Charleston House Holiday Inn. You will be assigned a test date by the Commission in your notification letter. Parking at the hotel is $3.
Admission to the test requires your notification letter, $25 testing fee, and identification. The testing fee can be paid by check or cash at the testing site. Your identification must bear your photograph and signature.
The test is paper and pencil. You must provide your own soft-lead pencils and erasers. Calculators are permitted for math calculations, but not provided. Scratch paper will be provided for you but you must turn it in with your examination.