To work as a real estate agent in the State of Texas, you must obtain a Texas Real Estate Salesperson license. The Texas Real Estate Commission is the official issuer of these licenses.
Requirements for a Texas Real Estate Salesperson License
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien.
- Must be a legal resident of Texas.
Texas requires a substantial amount of classroom education in order to become a licensed salesperson. The following classroom education is required for a salesperson license:
- Principles of Real Estate – 60 classroom hours
- Law of Agency – 30 classroom hours
- Law of Contracts – 30 classroom hours
- Additional core real estate course – 30 classroom hours
- Four semester hours in core courses or related courses approved by the Commission. Alternately, a bachelor’s degree may satisfy the related education requirements. You will need to supply a copy of your college transcript.
The Texas Real Estate Commission provides a list of acceptable core real estate educators in order to fulfill your educational requirements. You can earn your educational requirements through traditional classroom instruction or through trade associations or correspondence (and Internet) courses.
Take The Texas Prelicensing Courses OnlineYou can take the 180 Hour Ultimate Success Prelicensing PDF Package completely online and at your own pace. If you are considering getting your real estate license, this is the easiest means of meeting the educational requirements. You can even save 10% by entering coupon code “NEWAGENT” at checkout.
Regardless of which online course you choose for your prelicensing requirement, consider purchasing a Texas Prelicensing Exam Study Guide to increase your chances of success. It is a small price to pay to ensure you pass your exam on the first try.
Submit an Application
After completing the educational requirements outlined above, you must file an Application for Inactive Salesperson License with the Texas Real Estate Commission. Along with your application, you will need to submit:
- Application fee of $137.00 (nonrefundable).
- Official transcripts or certificates showing evidence of successful completion of your educational requirements.
All applicants must submit fingerprints and pass a background check. Fingerprints can be taken through L1 Enrollment Services or through PSI. More information is available here, including where to have fingerprints taken. Note that when you fill out an application, you authorize the State of Texas to conduct a background investigation. If you are deemed ineligible for a real estate salesperson license, your fees will be lost.
Take the Texas Real Estate Salesperson License Examination
The Texas Real Estate Salesperson examination is conducted by PSI, a private testing service. You will receive a notification from the Texas Real Estate Commission once your application has been accepted which will allow you to register with PSI to take the exam. You will receive a Candidate Information Brochure at that time. The brochure contains information on registering for the exam and study material to help you pass.
You have six months from the time you file your application with the real estate commission to pass the exam.
Become a Licensed Real Estate Agent
After successfully passing the Texas real estate exam and becoming a licensed real estate agent, your license will be in an inactive status. You must obtain sponsorship with a Texas real estate broker that has an active license before you can practice real estate. Your sponsoring broker can submit a request for you to activate your license and allow you to begin practicing real estate.