Facilitating the buying and selling of real estate in Rhode Island requires a Salesperson License. The Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation sets forth guidelines and requirements for any person wishing to become a real estate agent.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- 45 hours of pre-licensing education plus a 3-hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation
- Satisfactory criminal History report
- Three Rhode Island residents who will attest to your good moral character and reputation
Rhode Island Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education
The Rhode Island Real Estate Commission requires that each applicant complete 45 hours of pre-licensing coursework plus 3 hours in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation. In addition, if the 45-hour coursework does not include 3 hours of curriculum on New Agency Law, you must supplement your education with that coursework. All coursework should be completed with a licensed educational provider. Real estate schools are located in Rhode Island and Massachusetts.
You may take the licensing examination prior to completing the coursework, however, your license will not be issued until the educational requirement is met. Your exam scores are only valid for one year.
Scheduling a Rhode Island Real Estate Examination
Pearson VUE is the testing company retained by the Rhode Island Real Estate Commission to administer and manage all examinations. In order to take the examination you must make an appointment through Pearson VUE; walk-in testing is not permitted. You may make your appointment online, over the phone (800-274-8922), or by fax (registration forms and instructions are found at the end of the Candidate Handbook. The testing fee of $70 is due at the time of registration and can be paid by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Pearson VUE maintains one testing center in Rhode Island and four in Massachusetts, you should choose the testing center most convenient for you.
Taking the Rhode Island Real Estate Examination
On the day of your scheduled examination, Pearson VUE recommends that you arrive 30 minutes prior to your scheduled appointment. You will need two forms of identification to be admitted to the test; one ID must be government issued with your photo and signature, the other must bear your signature. The testing center will also take your photograph for your score report. You will be shown to a computer to take your exam. The time you spend becoming acquainted with the operation of the computer and going through the tutorial will not reduce your testing time.
The examination is divided into two sections: General Knowledge and Rhode Island. The General Knowledge section is made up of 80 questions regarding standard real estate information. You will be permitted 2.5 hours to complete all 80 questions. The Rhode Island portion contains 40 items regarding laws and policies specific to Rhode Island. You will have 1.5 hours to complete it.
Once you complete both portions and submit your answers you will receive an official score report from the testing center staff. If you pass the examination, your score report will simply state “pass” and give further instructions for obtaining your license. If you fail the examination, your score report will show a numeric score and diagnostic information to assist you in preparation for a re-take.
Pearson VUE administers multiple versions of the examination to decrease the chances of cheating. In order to maintain the same difficulty level between versions, scores are calculated as scaled scores, not percentages. The passing score for each version is 70.
Applying for a Rhode Island Real Estate License
Once you have passed your examination, the next step towards licensure is submitting an application with the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. You must submit the following documents with your application:
- Original score report from Pearson VUE
- Verification of completed coursework (Certificate of Completion) including certifications for the New Agency Law and Lead Poisoning coursework
- Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance
- Criminal History Record from the Rhode Island Attorney Generalís Office
- Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification (included on application)
Your application must be notarized and signed in appropriate places. You are also responsible for the application fee and $25 “Real Estate Recovery Account” fee. The application fees vary depending on the time of year you submit your application.