To obtain a real estate salesperson license in North Dakota each candidate must fulfill education obligations. Licenses are granted by the North Dakota Real Estate Commission once all requirements are fulfilled.
General Requirements for a North Dakota Real Estate License
- At least 18 years old
- Submit to a credit report
- 45 hours of pre-license education
- Passing score on licensing examination
Education Requirement for a North Dakota Real Estate License
The North Dakota Real Estate Commission has three pre-approved real estate educational providers for the 45-hour pre-license course. You may choose from class meetings or an online format to suite your needs. NDREC allows you to take the pre-licensing examination prior to completing the education requirement, but will not issue a license until this prerequisite is fulfilled.
Initial License Application
In order to become eligible to take the licensing examination, you must submit an Application for License for Real Estate Salesperson. This form asks for basic background information, employment history, and educational history. You will need to have a notary public notarize the application before submitting it and you must include the $100 non-refundable application fee and $20 Real Estate Education, Research, and Recovery Fund fee. Once the Commission approves your application, you will receive an exam eligibility notice and test ID number. You then have four months to register with AMP and take the test.
Registering for the North Dakota Real Estate Salesperson Examination
Applied Measurement Professionals, LLC (AMP) is employed by the Commission to administer and manage all real estate testing. They have testing locations inside H&R Block offices in Bismarck and Fargo. The two easiest ways to register for and schedule your examination appointment is online and over the phone (800-345-6559). You will need a credit card in order to complete your registration. Another way to register is through the mail. You will need a registration form and a cashier’s check or money order. About 7-10 days after mailing your registration form you may call AMP to schedule your appointment. The testing fee is $130 and must be paid in full at the time of registration.
Taking the North Dakota Real Estate Salesperson Examination
The North Dakota Real Estate Salesperson Examination is divided into two sections–national and state. The national section consists of 100 questions and pertains to real estate general knowledge. You must answer 70 national items correctly in order to pass the section. The state section has 40 questions in regards to North Dakota’s real estate laws and practices. You must answer 30 state items correctly in order to achieve a passing score. When taking both sections together the questions will be intermixed and you will not be able to differentiate which questions belong to which section. You are permitted 3.5 hours to complete both sections together. The test is administered on AMP’s testing computers. You do not need any computer or typing experience in order to use the computer properly.
You should arrive at the testing center promptly at your scheduled time; arriving more than 15 minutes late will cause your appointment to be cancelled and money forfeited. You should leave all personal belongings except for wallets, keys, and a calculator in your car or home. AMP will provide you with a soft locker for jackets, hats, watches, and cell phones. You will need two forms of valid identification to be admitted into the testing room. One ID needs your photograph; both IDs need your current name and signature.
The testing center will provide you with a printed score report once you have submitted your answers. Regardless of your pass or fail status, keep your score report because you will have to submit all score reports to the Commission. If you fail one section of the exam you will be able to retake that section alone at a later date. You must pass both sections within 12 months of your initial application.
Applying for a North Dakota Real Estate License
To complete the application process you must submit several pieces of documentation and an Application to Issue Real Estate License to the Commission. The application requires verification from your broker along with his/her signature. You should submit verification of your 45-hour pre-licensing course, original score reports from AMP, and certification of Errors and Omissions coverage.