New Hampshire Real Estate Licenses are granted to candidates who meet certain requirements set forth by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission (NHREC).
General Requirements for NH Real Estate Licenses
- 40 hours of pre-license education
- Release criminal records to the New Hampshire Department of Safety
- Passing score on licensing examination
New Hampshire Real Estate Pre-License Requirement
The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission requires all candidates to complete 40 hours of real estate pre-licensing education. The courses must be completed with a pre-approved real estate school. All courses are conducted in-person with the possibility, depending on the course provider, of eight hours or less completed online. You will need proof of successfully completing the 40 hours in order to take the licensing examination. You must take and pass the licensing exam within 12 months of completing the education requirement.
Registering For and Scheduling the New Hampshire Real Estate License Examination
Prior to scheduling your examination you must register with Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP). You can complete your registration by filling out the registration form found at the back of the Candidate Handbook and mailing it in along with the $115 registration fee. Payment is accepted in the form of personal check, money order, cashier’s check, or cash.
After registering for the examination, AMP will send you a postcard notifying you that you are eligible to take the test. You may then schedule your real estate exam online or over the phone (800-345-6559). AMP has several locations (inside H&R Block offices) around the state. You have three months from the time you registered to take the test.
Taking the New Hampshire Real Estate License Examination
On the day of your scheduled examination you should arrive promptly at your appointment time. If you arrive more than 15 minutes late, the testing staff will not admit you to the examination and you will forfeit the testing fee. You should be prepared with two forms of valid identification. One ID must have your photograph; both IDs must have your name and signature. Temporary forms of identification, such as student or employee IDs, are not acceptable.
The test is given on computer but you are not required to have any computer or typing experience. You will be given a short tutorial on how to use the computer and a chance to practice before beginning the exam. You may use your own calculator to assist with math related questions but your calculator must be silent, nonprogrammable, without alphabetic keys or printing capabilities. If you do not have your own calculator the testing staff will provide you with pencils and scratch paper.
You are permitted 3.5 hours to complete the whole test. The first time you take the exam you will be taking the national and state portions together. The national section contains 100 questions pertaining to general real estate knowledge. The state portion has 40 questions regarding laws and policies specific to New Hampshire. The questions will appear randomly intermixed and not appear as two separate sections.
Real Estate Exam Scoring
Your score report will be given to you at the testing center promptly after completing the test. In order to pass both sections you will need to earn a scaled score of 70. Scaled scores are used to accommodate the varying levels of difficulties between separate test forms. Scaled scores are calculated using a statistical process that equalizes the level of knowledge needed to earn a passing score on each test form. Therefore, no test form is more difficult to pass than another.
If you fail one portion of the exam, you are permitted to retake it up to eight times within one year. Once you exceed the attempts or time limit, you will have to take an accredited pre-licensing course in addition to the 40-hour pre-licensing course you already completed.
Applying for a New Hampshire Real Estate License
After successfully passing both portions of the examination, the next step towards licensure is to complete the application and submit it to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission. You can find the application on the Commission’s website, on AMP’s website, or you may contact the Commission directly. Along with filling out your portion of the application, if you are applying for an active license your principal broker must complete a section of the application. You will also need three people to act as references and attest to your moral character. You will need your application notarized by a notary public or justice of the peace.