Nevada Real Estate Licenses are governed by the Nevada Real Estate Commission (NREC). In order to obtain a license you must meet criteria and requirements set forth by NREC.
- 18 years of age or older
- 90 hours or six credits of real estate education
- Passing score on the licensing examination
- Criminal and federal background check
- Eligible to work in the United States
- US Social Security Number
Nevada Real Estate Education Requirement
You must complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education with a pre-approved provider or six college credits (3 credits in Real Estate Principles and 3 credits in Real Estate Law).
The 90-hour course is broken down into 45 hours of Real Estate Principles and 45 hours of Real Estate Law. You will have to pass a final examination in order to receive a certificate of completion. Your licensing application will not be approved without your original certificate of completion.
Take the Nevada Real Estate Course Online
You can take the Nevada Real Estate Prelicensing Course completely online and at your own pace. If you are considering getting your real estate license, this is the easiest means of meeting the educational requirements. You can even save 10% by entering coupon code “NEWAGENT” at checkout.
Regardless of which online course you choose for your prelicensing requirement, consider purchasing a Nevada Prelicensing Exam Study Guide to increase your chances of success. It is a small price to pay to ensure you pass your exam on the first try.
Registering for the Nevada Real Estate Licensing Examination
In order to schedule yourself for an exam, you must be approved by PSI, the testing company employed by NREC to administer the examinations. If you register online with PSI you can gain approval immediately and schedule your exam at the same time. Registering over the phone (800-733-9267) is the second fastest way to complete the approval process. You must have a VISA or MasterCard to remit the $100 testing fee at the time of registration. If you would like to register through the mail, you will need a registration form found at the back of the Candidate Handbook and VISA, MasterCard, money order, or cashier’s check to pay the $100 testing fee. You will then have to wait two weeks before scheduling your exam. You may also fax the registration form with your credit card information to PSI and wait four days to schedule your examination. Registration and fees are only valid for 12 months.
If you have already completed the registration you may appear at the testing center as a ìwalk-inî (not available at the Elko site) for an additional $15. However, walk-ins are taken after all of the scheduled candidates have been accommodated and risk being turned away.
Taking the Nevada Real Estate Licensing Examination
Reporting to the testing center on time and prepared eases the check-in process. You should arrive 30 minutes early for the testing staff to check your identifications and walk you through the testing process. Two valid identifications are required; one must be government issued bearing your signature and photograph, the other must have your name preprinted and your signature. The testing staff will assign you a testing computer and make sure you are comfortable using it. You will have a chance to practice using the computer before your test begins.
Once the test begins, you will have 3 hours to complete all 120 questions. The national portion of the exam is 80 questions, while the state portion is 40. The questions will appear intermixed and not separated by sections. You must earn a 75 percent on both portions of the exam in order to pass. If you do not pass just one section, you may retake that section alone for an additional $100. Your score report will appear on your computer screen and an official paper score report will be printed for you.
Applying for a Nevada Real Estate License
The next step towards being granted a Nevada Real Estate License is submitting your application with all the necessary documents. You will need to submit your fingerprints, proof of your education, original exam score report, and the $210 application fee.
Your fingerprints should be taken by a law enforcement agency or by an approved vendor. If your fingerprints are taken on a fingerprint card you must attach the card to you license application along with $51.25 (cashier’s check or money order). If you use an approved vendor your fingerprints will be electronically submitted for the background check.
Once your application is completely filled out you will need to have it notarized by a notary public. You must submit your application within 12 months of passing both portions of the examination, otherwise your scores are invalid.