The Nebraska Real Estate Commission controls the issuance of real estate licenses in Nebraska. You must be a license real estate agent or broker to conduct sales. The following information outlines the necessary requirements to obtain a Nebraska Real Estate License.
General Requirements for a Nebraska Real Estate License
- At least 19 years of age or older
- US Social Security Number
- High school diploma or GED
- Complete 60-hour pre-licensing education
- Submit fingerprints for full background check
- Pass licensing examination
Nebraska Real Estate Education Requirement
To satisfy the 60-hour pre-licensing course requirement you must take two preapproved 30-hour courses by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. Classes are offered in person and online to meet your needs.
Application for License and Examination Permission
The next step towards gaining your real estate license is to prepare and submit your license application. Through this application you will be granted permission to take the licensing exam.
You must submit your fingerprints to the Nebraska State Patrol four to six weeks prior to submitting your license application. In order to fulfill this requirement you must order a fingerprinting packet and cards from the Nebraska Real Estate Commission; you can email firstname.lastname@example.org or call (402) 471-2004. Once you receive the cards you should make an appointment with the nearest Nebraska State Patrol office and have your prints taken. If you use a different law enforcement agency you will incur separate fees and the prints may not be as readable. After your prints have been taken you need to mail the fingerprint cards and $38 to the Nebraska State Patrol in Lincoln.
Four to six weeks after submitting your fingerprints you should start calling the Nebraska Real Estate Commission (402-471-2004) to see if your background check has been completed. Once you receive confirmation that your fingerprints have cleared, you may submit your application. Background checks are only valid for 90 days. The application fee of $135 AND the examination fee of $150 are both due with your application.
Scheduling the Nebraska Real Estate License Exam
Once you have received eligibility notification from the NREC for the examination, you have 12 months to take and pass the test with Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (AMP). You may schedule your exam online or over the phone (800-345-6559). You can check the Real Estate Candidate Handbook or AMP’s website for a list of testing center locations and directions. Examinations are administered at 9:00 am and 1:30 pm Monday through Saturday.
Taking the Nebraska Real Estate License Examination
You should arrive to the testing center about 15 minutes prior to your scheduled appointment. If you arrive 15 minutes after your appointment time, AMP will not permit you to test and you will forfeit the $150 testing fee. You will need two forms of identification to be admitted to the test. Both identifications must have your name and signature; one identification must have your photograph. Temporary forms of identification, such as employee ID cards, are not acceptable.
Personal belongings should be left at home or in your car. Personal calculators are permitted but must follow strict guidelines: battery or solar powered, silent, no alphabetic functions or printing capabilities. Paper and pencils will be provided for you upon check-in.
You will have 3.5 hours to complete the full exam (national and state portions together). The national portion of the exam consists of 100 questions, while the state portion is 50 questions. The questions will be intermixed and will not appear as separate sections. You must answer 70 national and 38 state questions correctly to earn a passing score. If you satisfy the passing requirements for one section but not the other, you must retake the entire test. Retakes are granted by NREC through a reapplication process.
Once you submit your answers you will be given an immediate score report. If you pass the test, you will be given instructions regarding obtaining your license. If you fail, your score report will contain diagnostic information showing areas of weakness on the test.
Obtaining Your Nebraska Real Estate License
In order to complete the application process you must submit two more documents to NREC, your official score report with photo and proof of Errors and Omissions Insurance. You have 30 days from the date you pass the examination to submit these documents.