How to Get a Missouri Real Estate License

In the state of Missouri you must hold a real estate license in order to facilitate the buying and selling of real estate. These licenses are granted by the Missouri Real Estate Commission (MREC) once candidates meet certain requirements.

General Requirements for a Missouri Real Estate License

  • At least 18 years of age
  • Complete a 48-hour pre-licensing course
  • Complete 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course
  • Pass licensing examination
  • Submit fingerprints for complete background check

Missouri Real Estate Pre-License Education Requirements

The Missouri Real Estate Commission requires two pre-licensing courses: a 48-hour general pre-license course and a 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice course. You must complete the 48-hour course before taking the licensing examination. Both courses needed to be completed before applying for licensure. The 48-hour course will provide you with general information regarding practicing real estate and cover material addressed on the licensing exam. The 24-hour course will cover real estate laws and policies specific to Missouri. The courses can be completed online or in a classroom with a pre-approved Missouri real estate school.

Take the Missouri Real Estate Course Online

You can take the Missouri Real Estate Prelicensing Course completely online and at your own pace. If you are considering getting your real estate license, this is the easiest means of meeting the educational requirements. You can even save 10% by entering coupon code “NEWAGENT” at checkout.

Scheduling the Missouri Real Estate Exam

The Missouri Real Estate Commission employs AMP, Inc. to conduct all real estate license testing. You will need to schedule your exam through AMP either on the internet or by phone (800-345-6559). AMP has testing locations throughout Missouri and each location offers the test Monday through Saturday at 9:30 am and 1:30 pm. For a complete list of testing locations you can view the Candidate Handbook online. If you are paying the $56 testing fee by credit card, you must pay at the time of scheduling. If you are paying by personal check, cashier’s check, or money order, you may pay at the testing center on the day of the examination. No credit cards or cash will be accepted at the testing center.

When scheduling the examination it is best to keep in mind that you must pass the test and submit your licensing application within six months of completing the 48-hour pre-license course.

Taking the Missouri Real Estate Licensing Examination

It is recommended that you arrive 15 minutes earlier than your scheduled appointment to allow for a comfortable check-in. In order to be admitted to the exam you will need two forms of valid identification. Temporary identifications such as student IDs will not be accepted. One ID must be government issued with a photo and signature. The other ID must have your signature. If your name does not match what is on your ID, you must bring proof of a name change. In the event that your identifications are not deemed acceptable to the testing center staff you will not be permitted to test and you will forfeit your testing fee.

The test is given on AMP’s computers. You do not need any computer experience in order to successfully complete the exam. A short tutorial will give instructions regarding all the functions of the keys and commands. Although one question appears on the screen at a time, you will be able to go back to questions you have already answered at any point in the test up until you submit your final answers.

The exam is given in two parts: the national portion and the state portion. The first time you take the exam you will have to take both portions together with the questions intermixed. You will have four hours to complete the entire exam. The national portion consists of 100 questions regarding general real estate practices. The state portion is 40 questions pertaining to Missouri-specific real estate laws and policies.

If you fail one section of the exam but pass the other you may retake just the section you failed. The retake fee is $56.

Examination Scoring

In order to pass both portions of the exam you must score 75 percent on each. You will be given a score report before leaving the testing center.

Applying for a Missouri Real Estate Salesperson’s License

Once you have successfully passed both portions of the exam you will be given an application for a license at the testing center. Your application will be preprinted with your testing scores and photograph. You must submit this application within six months of completing the 48-hour pre-licensing course.

Along with the application you must include a receipt from L-1 Enrollment as documentation that you have had your fingerprints taken. For more information regarding fingerprinting, you may visit L-1 Enrollment’s website. There is a $52.20 fee for the fingerprinting services.

Official Resources for a Missouri Real Estate License

2 Responses to “How to Get a Missouri Real Estate License”

  1. wilber o guerra commented on April 16, 2015

    Do I make the appointment myself, or the broker that I will work with?

    • Chris commented on May 15, 2015

      You make the appointment yourself.

Have a Question About to Chris

We're here to help in any way that we can. If you have a question about the process of getting your real estate license, please leave us a note below.

Click here to cancel reply.