To acquire a real estate license in Michigan you must meet several requirements. These standards are set forth by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.
General Requirements for a Real Estate License in Michigan
- At least 18 years of age or older
- Complete 40-hour real estate pre-licensing course
- Pass licensing examination
- Become employed by a broker
Education Requirements for a Michigan Real Estate License
All licensing candidates are required to complete a 40-hour fundamentals course. The course must be given by a pre-approved real estate school in order for you to be eligible for a license. Courses are offered online and in classroom settings.
At the conclusion of the pre-licensing course the real estate school should submit your completion certificate to the State of Michigan. You should also retain a copy of the completion certificate for your records.
Take the Michigan Real Estate Course Online
You can take the Michigan Real Estate Prelicensing Course completely online and at your own pace. If you are considering getting your real estate license, this is the easiest means of meeting the educational requirements. You can even save 10% by entering coupon code “NEWAGENT” at checkout.
Regardless of which online course you choose for your prelicensing requirement, consider purchasing a Michigan Prelicensing Exam Study Guide to increase your chances of success. It is a small price to pay to ensure you pass your exam on the first try.
Licensing Application and Real Estate Exam Registration
In order to be eligible to take the licensing examination, you must first submit your real estate license application online using the iCOLA system. You are responsible for licensure fees at the time of application. Since the fees are prorated for the year, you should check the real estate license fees chart for the charges applicable to you. If you are already employed by a broker, he/she will need to access your application through his/her iCOLA account and approve you to be licensed. If you are not employed by a broker, your application status will be “pending” until a broker is confirmed.
About 2-5 business days following your application submission the State of Michigan will email your authorization to test. You must take and pass the examination within one year of submitting your application. Following the directions found in your authorization email, you may go to the PSI Services, LLC website to schedule your exam. The testing fee of $72 is due at the time of scheduling. You may pay this fee using VISA or MasterCard. Phone, fax, and mail registration are also available. If registering by mail, cashier’s check and money order are also accepted. PSI has locations throughout the state of Michigan, you can check the Real Estate Candidate Handbook.
Taking the Michigan Real Estate Licensing Examination
All real estate agent licensing candidates must pass both sections of the licensing examination within one year of applying to the State of Michigan. You are allowed 180 minutes (3 hours) to complete the 110-question exam. You must answer 77 questions correctly for a 70% passing score. The examination contains questions regarding Michigan real estate law and basic real estate practices. Michigan does not divide the exam into separate sections; therefore, you must retake the whole exam if you fail the first time.
The exam is only given via computer. There is a thorough tutorial prior to the exam explaining the functions of the keys and commands used to navigate the test. You can take as much time as you need to familiarize yourself with the computer without using the 180 minutes allowed for the test.
On the day of the test it is recommended that you arrive 30 minutes prior to your appointment. You will need to bring two forms of identification to be admitted to the exam. One identification must be government-issued bearing your photograph and signature. The second identification must have your name preprinted and your signature.
If you pass the examination you will receive a score report indicating your success. You will not receive a numeric score. If you do not pass, you will receive a score report that shows individual scores for separate sections of the test.
Obtaining Your Michigan Real Estate Sales License
Upon your successful completion of the exam, you will be issued a license at the testing center.