How to Get a Massachusetts Real Estate License


To practice real estate in Massachusetts, you must first obtain a real estate license. The real estate licensure process is governed by the Massachusetts Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation division.

General Requirements:

  • At least 18 years of age or older
  • Hold a valid Social Security Number
  • Completion of a 40-hour pre-licensing course
  • Successful passing score on licensing examination
  • Obtain three candidate endorsements

Massachusetts Pre-Licensing Education Requirement

All real estate licensure candidates must complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education with a pre-approved real estate education provider. At the conclusion of your 40-hour coursework a school representative should complete an Education Certificate Form. You will need that form in order to be admitted to the licensing examination.

Reservations for the Massachusetts Licensing Examination

In order to take the Massachusetts’ Salespersons’ Licensing Examination you must register and make reservations with Pearson VUE, the testing company employed to administer the exam. The testing fee of $101 is due upon scheduling your exam and is payable by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. The fastest way to make your reservation is by phone (800-274-0501); you can make reservations 24 hours in advance. If registering online at pearsonvue.com or by fax (888-204-6291) you must make reservations 4 business days before the date you would like to take the exam. You will receive a confirmation number necessary for your check-in prior to the exam.

Preparing for the Massachusetts Salespersons’ Licensing Examination

There are several requirements you must fulfill on the day you take the examination.

You must bring with you a completed Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Education Certification and Endorsements form. This form can be found at the back of the Candidate Handbook. This form requires you to obtain three signatures (with contact information) of persons unrelated to you testifying that you are an honest, moral person who will act fairly and responsibly in real estate sales. Your real estate school should have filled out the education section of the form already.

You must also be prepared to pay the licensing fee at the testing center should you successfully pass the examination. Testing fees are prorated; check the Candidate Handbook for the correct amount due.

Pearson VUE requires all test-takers to present two forms of identification. You will need one government-issued ID that bears your photo and signature. The second identification needs to have a signature along with your name preprinted.

Taking the Massachusetts Salespersons’ Licensing Examination

It is recommended that you arrive to the testing center 30 minutes prior to your reservation time. The testing center check-in process includes checking your identifications, gathering your documentation, take your photograph, and familiarizing you with the testing process. The test is given on computer. A tutorial will show you how to navigate the commands and give you practice until you are comfortable enough to begin the exam.

You will have four hours to complete the 120-question test. There are two portions to the exam, general and state. The general section consists of 80 questions and addresses real estate practice. The state portion consists of 40 questions and addresses real estate law. You must pass both portions, each with a score of 70, in order to be eligible for a license.

Scores are not percentages but scaled scores. The scores are scaled to allow for variations in the difficulty of questions between different test forms.

If you fail one portion of the exam you may retake just that portion alone at a later date. The fee for retakes is $56.

Obtaining Your Massachusetts Real Estate License

Your license will be given to you at the testing center upon your successful completion of both portions of the exam. You must pay the prorated licensing fee found in the Candidate Handbook at the testing center. Acceptable forms of payment are credit card, personal check, cashier’s check, or money order. Cash is not accepted.

Official Resources


One Response to “How to Get a Massachusetts Real Estate License”

  1. Patti commented on January 16, 2017

    Hi, I have copied and pasted a paragraph from this web site and then asked a question below. If you would please answer my question I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

    “You must also be prepared to pay the “licensing fee” at the testing center should you successfully pass the examination. Testing fees are prorated; check the Candidate Handbook for the correct amount due.”

    Is this “licensing fee” in addition to the $101/$103 exam fee? If so, how much is it?

Have a Question?

We're here to help in any way that we can. If you have a question about the process of getting your real estate license, please leave us a note below.