How to Get a Maine Real Estate License


A Sales Agent License in the State of Maine is a two-year license required prior to applying for an Associate Broker License. This license is nonrenewable; at the end of two years, agents must complete the requirements to become an Associate Broker.

General Requirements

  • 18 years of age
  • High school diploma or equivalent
  • Completion of the prelicensing course with a minimum grade of 75%
  • Successful completion of the prelicensing examination
  • License application fee
  • Have a reputation for honesty, truthfulness, fair-dealing, and competency

Educational Requirements

Prior to taking the Agent Sales Examination, all candidates must complete a Commission-approved licensing course. Classes are offered as correspondence courses, online, or in traditional classroom settings. A complete course listing can be found in the Maine Real Estate Commission Qualifying Education Course Schedule. All candidates must pass the course with a grade of 75% or above in order to be approved to take the examination.

Registering and Scheduling the Maine Real Estate License Examination

A Sales Agent candidate must schedule their test taking with Pearson VUE (www.pearsonvue.com/me/realestate). A good thing to keep in mind is that a Sales Agent candidate must pass both sections of the licensing exam within one year of completing “The Agent Sales Course”. This means that candidates should leave a significant amount of time between their test dates and their deadline in the event they should need to retake the test. Reservations can be made online (www.pearsonvue.com/me/realestate) or over the phone (877-543-5220). At the time of making a reservation, candidates should have their Course Certificate of Completion, know which testing location they prefer (Bangor, Westbrook, Boston, or Woburn), and be prepared to pay the testing fee. The $85 testing fee is due at the time of registration and is payable by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Reservations should be made at least one business day prior to the desired testing date.

Taking the Maine Real Estate License Examination

Candidates should arrive 30 minutes prior to their scheduled testing appointment to allow time for check-in. In order to be admitted to the test, candidates must show two not expired forms of identification; one identification must have a signature and photograph, the other must have a signature. The original Course Completion Certificate is also required.

After checking in, candidates will have time to practice using the examination computer and familiarizing themselves with the testing process. Once candidates feel comfortable, they may begin taking the examination. Candidates are permitted two and a half hours for the general portion of the exam and one and half hours for the Maine Law portion. The computer will automatically end the test, if the candidate is still working when the time limit is reached.

Candidates will receive an official score report indicating a “Pass” or “Fail” status. Instructions for applying for a license will be given to candidates who pass the examination. Candidates who fail the examination will receive a numeric score with diagnostic information. Reservations for retests can be made 24 hours after a failing score is received; essentially, a candidate must wait 48 hours to retake the test. Candidates who only fail one portion of the exam do not have to retake the portion they passed.

Applying for a Maine Real Estate License

Once applicants have passed both sections of the Maine Sales Agent Examination, they may complete the steps for a license. Applications may be completed and submitted online or on paper and mailed to the Commission. Applicants have one year from passing the examination to apply for licensure and must submit the ORIGINAL Course Completion Certificate and sales agent exam results. Each applicant is required to have three character references that can attest to the candidate’s good moral character. In addition, a broker must request licensure for an applicant by stating that the applicant will be associated with the broker’s agency. Finally, a $121 fee is required to process the application.


4 Responses to “How to Get a Maine Real Estate License”

  1. Pam Sandquist commented on September 30, 2015

    If I have my MA license and I want my Maine license I only have to take the state portion of the testing, correct? How much is it to take that test and how much is it to get my Maine license?

    Thank you,
    Pam

  2. Patrick Cazemajou commented on April 11, 2016

    To become a property Manager in Maine. Do I need a real estate licence?
    Thank you
    Patrick

  3. Connie Doto commented on July 1, 2016

    I have a broker .s license in Massachusetts and New Hamphshire How can I get a Maine license

  4. Kirsten commented on June 6, 2017

    Hello,

    I have a salesperson license that is currently being held in referrals by Remax in NJ. I am current on my continuing education. What do I need to do to change my license to an active license in the state of Maine and begin working in Maine?

    Thank you.

Have a Question?

We're here to help in any way that we can. If you have a question about the process of getting your real estate license, please leave us a note below.