A real estate salesperson in the state of Kentucky must be licensed by the Kentucky Real Estate Commission. The licensing requirements for a new licensee are outlined below.
General Requirements for a Kentucky Real Estate License
- High school diploma or equivalent
- 96-hours of real estate pre-licensing education or six credit hours in real estate from a college or university
- Submission of fingerprints for a criminal background check
Pre-License Education for a Kentucky Real Estate License
The Kentucky Real Estate Commission requires licensure candidates to acquire real estate education prior to applying for a license. You may fulfill this requirement by completing six credit hours in real estate at a college or university, or completing 96 hours of real estate education at a pre-approved real estate school.
You will need the official certificate of completion from the real estate school you attended or an official college transcript verifying you have fulfilled this requirement before you may sit for the licensing examination. Your school will also provide you with a school code that is necessary to schedule your exam.
Criminal Background Check
All real estate license candidates must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check prior to registering and scheduling their examinations. Your real estate education provider is required to present you with the information you need regarding this prerequisite. You can download a fingerprint card from the FBI’s website. Have your fingerprints taken at your local police station, UPS store, or sheriff’s department then mail them to the FBI with the $18 fee. You should include the date you need your report by and a self-addressed stamped envelope. Criminal background records are only valid for six months.
Registering and Scheduling the Kentucky Real Estate Sales Examination
PSI Services, LLC is commissioned to administer the real estate exam. Registration and scheduling can be handled online, over the phone (800-733-9267), by fax (702-932-2666), or by mail. The $100 testing fee is due upon registration. When registering by fax or mail you will need the registration form found at the end of the Kentucky Real Estate Candidate Handbook. You will need your school code in order to complete the registration process. PSI has locations throughout the state that offer the real estate exam.
Taking the Kentucky Real Estate Sales Examination
According to PSI, you should arrive about 30 minutes prior to your scheduled test time to allow for the check-in process. You need to have two forms of identification with you; one identification must be government-issued bearing your photo and signature, the other identification must bear your signature and preprinted name. You should not bring any personal items to the testing center, as you are not permitted access to them during the exam. The testing staff will familiarize you with the testing process and computer.
Once you have completed the computer tutorial and feel comfortable using the computer functions, you may begin the test. The 120-question test consists of two portions, state and general. The state portion contains questions regarding the state laws and policies of real estate and the general portion contains questions regarding real estate practices. The test has a time limit of four hours. You need a 75% on both portions to pass. If you fail only one portion you can retake just that section alone 48 hours later. A retake also costs $100.
Once your answers are submitted the computer will show your score. An unofficial score report will be printed for you upon checkout.
Obtaining Your Kentucky Real Estate License
After successfully passing both portions of the licensing exam a license application will be provided for you at the testing center. That application will list the documents that need to be included with your submission. You are required to obtain Errors and Omissions Insurance but you may be covered by your employing broker, so check with him/her before purchasing your own. The application fee is $60. Your application and documentation must be submitted within 60 days of passing the examination or your scores will be considered invalid.
Official Resources for the Kentucky Real Estate Exam
- Kentucky Real Estate Commission – Sales and Broker Licensing Testing Information
- Kentucky Real Estate Exam Content – What’s on the Kentucky Real Estate Exam?
- Kentucky List of Approved Real Estate School Providers
- FBI Fingerprint Card