Practicing Real Estate in the state of Georgia requires licensure through the Georgia Real Estate Commission. In order to acquire a license, candidates must meet educational criterion along with maintaining a satisfactory criminal record.
- Complete 75-hour pre-licensing education
- Satisfactory Criminal History Report
Educational Requirement for a Georgia Real Estate License
In order to qualify for a real estate license in Georgia, you must complete the 75-hour pre-licensing curriculum. You must use an approved educational provider.
Once you enroll in real estate school you must complete a licensing application. You can find the application questions in the Candidate Handbook. You may also be responsible for the $97 examination fee due at that time.
Take the Georgia Real Estate Course Online
You can take the Georgia Real Estate Prelicensing Course completely online and at your own pace. If you are considering getting your real estate license, this is the easiest means of meeting the educational requirements. You can even save 10% by entering coupon code “NEWAGENT” at checkout.
Regardless of which online course you choose for your prelicensing requirement, consider purchasing a Georgia Prelicensing Exam Study Guide to increase your chances of success. It is a small price to pay to ensure you pass your exam on the first try.
Scheduling the Georgia Real Estate Licensing Examination
Your school will send AMP, the testing company, verification that you are eligible to take the examination. Once your eligibility is submitted, you may schedule the test online, over the phone, or through standard mail. To schedule over the phone or online you will need a VISA, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express card to remit any testing fees not already paid. If you would like to schedule through standard mail you will need a registration form found at the end of the Candidate Handbook and cashier’s check or money order. You will have to wait 7-10 business days after mailing the form to call and schedule your appointment.
Hint: If you schedule your examination in the morning and you pass, you will be able to receive your license the same day. If you take the examination in the afternoon, you will have to wait 24 hours to receive your license.
Taking the Georgia Real Estate Licensing Examination
You should arrive promptly to the testing center on the day of your scheduled exam; arriving more than 15 minutes late will disqualify you and you will forfeit all examination fees.
You will need two forms of identification in order to be admitted to the test. Both forms of identification must have your current name and signature and may not be expired. One form must have your photograph in addition to your name and signature. Identification cards that are temporary, such as a student ID, are not acceptable.
Personal belongings should be left at home or in your car. Hats, jackets, cell phones, books, and watches are not permitted in the testing room. You may bring your own non-programmable, silent, numeric calculator.
The licensing exam is composed of two portions: State and National. The questions will appear intermixed and the candidate will not be made aware of which test items belong to which portion. The State portion asks questions regarding Georgia laws and policies. It contains 52 multiple-choice questions. The National portion is 100 questions regarding general real estate knowledge. You will need to answer a total of 109 questions correctly in order to pass the test.
You must obtain a GCIC (Georgia Criminal Information Center) Report from a local sheriff’s office or police department. Some agencies may have a 24-hour waiting period from the time you request the report. Fees vary but will not be more than $25. Reports are only valid for 60 days.
Obtaining a Georgia Real Estate License
Licenses are issued at AMP testing center locations. If you pass the test in the morning, AMP will be able to issue your license the very same day. If you pass the test in the afternoon, you will have to wait until the next morning to obtain your license.
You will need the following documents to be awarded a license:
- Certification of Accuracy Statement (your AMP score report)
- Valid photo identification
- A Sponsoring Broker Statement (statement verifying employment with a broker), if you are applying for an active license.
- $170 license fee (payable by VISA, MasterCard, debit card, cashier’s check, or money order) (If you apply more than 90 days after taking the examination, the licensing fee is $340.)
- Criminal History Report
- Signed and notarized Lawful Presence Affidavit
Most forms can be found at the end of the Candidate Handbook.