How to Get a Connecticut Real Estate License


The state of Connecticut requires you to obtain a real estate license if you would like to participate in real estate commerce. The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection sets forth rules and regulations regarding the qualifications for a real estate license.

General Requirements for a Connecticut Real Estate License

  • 60-hours of Real Estate Principles and Practices education with a state approved real estate school
  • Pass the state and general portions of the licensing exam

Connecticut Real Estate Pre-Licensing Course

It is important to attend an approved Connecticut Real Estate Principles and Practices course.

After you have successfully completed the 60 hours of pre-licensing education you will receive a Course Completion Certificate. You will need this certificate in order to register for the salesperson exam.

Applying to Take the Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Exam

Prior to actually registering to take the Connecticut Real Estate exam, you must apply to PSI licensure: certification, the company who administers the exam. The cost of applying to take the exam is $80 and due with your application (another fee of $52 is due when you make your exam appointment). You must include the original Course Completion Certificate from your real estate school and your application must be notarized by a Notary Public, Justice of the Peace, or Commissioner of Superior Court. Once you have been approved by PSI to take the exam, they will mail an Examination Eligibility Postcard notifying you.

Registering to Take the Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Exam

After you have received your Examination Eligibility Postcard you may schedule your exam. Remember, you only have one year to take and pass both sections of the exam. You may register online for the Connecticut Real Estate Exam, by fax (702-932-2666), or over the phone (800-733-9267) using a VISA or MasterCard; or through the mail by using a registration form and cashier’s check or money order. The fee for the first time you take the exam is $52.

The Connecticut Real Estate Salesperson Exam

The first time you take the exam you will be taking both the general and state portions at the same time. There are 110 questions – 80 for the general portion and 30 for the state portion. You will have 165 minutes (2 hours, 45 minutes) to complete the test.

All tests are given on the computer. A tutorial in the beginning will walk you through how to use all of the commands and functions necessary for the test. The time you spend getting to know the computer will not subtract from the allotted testing time. You can begin your test once you are comfortable with using the technology.

You must score at or above 70% to pass the examination. Your score will appear on your computer screen as soon as you submit your answers. A printed score report will be available for you upon your checkout.

Official Resources for getting a Connecticut Real Estate License


One Response to “How to Get a Connecticut Real Estate License”

  1. BRANDEN M VENTRELLA commented on September 20, 2016

    I have a felony conviction from 2008 will that prevent me from obtaining my real estate license in the state of connecticut

Have a Question?

We're here to help in any way that we can. If you have a question about the process of getting your real estate license, please leave us a note below.